Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone else had their dealer refuse to reset the service light when they didn't do the service? I did my first 600 mile service myself a while back, ran with the service light for a bit longer. Decided I wanted to get it reset since I'd be going past the dealer this weekend. I called ahead to ensure they weren't swamped and I'd be waiting hours for a 2 min job. They told me they flat out could not do it since they did not do the service on the bike. Stating it's a Ducati requirement for liability reasons (warranty).

Has anyone else ran into this issue? The only work around they offered was to charge me for 1 hour of labor, and look over the bike to ensure I did the service myself properly. Sounds ridiculous to me.

I'm a mechanic, I do all my own services, I've rebuilt bikes 100 times over. Anyone know of definitive way to do this myself at home. Even if it requires purchasing diagnostic tools/software. This is my first Ducati, so new to their way of thinking..

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
I remember reading another thread recently on this forum discussing how to turn off this message, so try searching.

But I'd recommend you consider taking up that dealer's offer. It will be a small price to pay for that dealer's support if you need warranty work done, and you couldn't otherwise show that servicing was done by an authorized Ducati wrench (which I assume you are not). Goodwill in that situation could save you lots of cash and headaches.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Tim

You can always try that old standby....

1. Push and hold (don't let off) the left button.

2. Then turn the key (pull down red slider) and let the display sweep.

3. Then turn the key (slider) off.

4. Lastly, release the button.

I have no clue, Tim, but what's the worse that could happen?

The best is that you reset the miles counter.

Dan

·
Registered
150 Posts