Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just had a shop install a Ducati Corse anti Hopper clutch on my 999R Xerox and it is slipping. If i throttle it quickly and let off a couple times it tends to grab. I noticed the slippage when i was picking it up from the shop, they told me the plates needed to burn off a film. Now I have been messing around with clutchs on ducatis for a few years and never heard of that. The reason I had the shop install the clutch was because it came from Germany with no instructions, and no plates, so I thought the shop would know the right plates to put in and make sure there where no issues. Problem is the shop i deal with is 5 hours from me. Any suggestions beings it looks like I will be working on this? This clutch only has 4 springs. I thought that maybe if I went with heaver duty springs that it may help. The plates they put in are STM ducati plates.

Thanks

·
Registered
284 Posts
Sounds to me as if they either installed it wrong, or didn't get the stack height correct. Hard to fault them, as they didn't have the information for installation either.

Never have I heard a clutch plate(s), needed to burn off any film....that's where I call BS. The clutch plates should be cleaned with brake cleaner prior to installation, and then be ready to go (this apply's to a dry clutch install only).

I'd remove the clutch plates, and clean them with brake cleaner, then try again. If it is still slipping, I'd increase the height of the plates slightly, by adding another clutch plate, or perhaps a thicker plate.

Also, I know on my bike (stock 748R slipper-clutch), that the first plate is a clutch plate and is then followed by a pressure plate, and then clutch plate followed by a .....you get the idea.

If they installed it ...make sure that they didn't put a pressure plate in first...as in my application...that would cause problems. Just something to ponder.

Good luck.

·