Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
Well, I’m new to the bike scene and now I have the itch. Unfortunately I can’t decide which Ducati I want to buy. I guess I should start with some background information so people can offer an informed opinion. As far as bike riding experience goes I used to ride dirt bikes up in some logging trails by my grandfathers camp site 15 years ago. Rarely have I ever had the occasion to ride bikes on the street. I have been around some friends who have been into sport bikes and I have occasionally driven some of their bikes. One of my fondest memories is one of my friends at the time had 3 bikes and he wanted to bring them all to a bike show that was local. I got “stuck” with the Ducati (I don’t remember what it was) and it was the most surreal experience I had on 2 wheels. I just loved riding that bike and I knew at that moment if I ever bought a bike it would be a Ducati. It was been about 5 years since I was on a bike and a couple of moths ago a good friend of mine bought a sport bike and I took it for a ride and now I have the itch. Unfortunately my riding skills have eroded to the point that I almost forgot how to turn onto a corner. So I’m contemplating what I should buy. I’m tossed up between the Supersport 1000ds or the Monster S2R 1000. I want something light so I can learn how to ride again and something that I won’t be bored with after a year. It’s also highly likely that at some point I will be taking the bike to some road course once I get comfortable because I have taken all of my cars to the track at some point and I love it. I’m open for any suggestions that anyone might have to help me choose the right bike, and I’m not married to just those 2 choices either. Thanks ahead of time, I’d appreciate any advice anyone is willing to give me.