Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm new to suspension setup and learning so I experimented today with the factory settings on my 2006 999S...I figured out most things but some things I can't figure out:

- in user manual it says that stock preload (forks) should be 40mm...I don't undertand that as it can't be sag,can it?In the back it says only 13mm...

- the rear shock rebound settings is under the shock,so to wind it fully in you have to wind it clokwise but looking from under the bike,or in direction to shock,correct?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
Hello!

I'm new to suspension setup and learning so I experimented today with the factory settings on my 2006 999S...I figured out most things but some things I can't figure out:

- in user manual it says that stock preload (forks) should be 40mm...I don't undertand that as it can't be sag,can it?In the back it says only 13mm...

- the rear shock rebound settings is under the shock,so to wind it fully in you have to wind it clokwise but looking from under the bike,or in direction to shock,correct?

Thanks!
Rear suspension rebound is normal RH thread so looking from the top wind clockwise to reduce rebound damping. All the way in is full hard (anticlockwise looking from the top) Count 14 clicks (clockwise viewed from the top) from there to standard setting.

Total Front fork preload adjustment range is 40mm. Wind all the way in (clockwise) and the standard setting is 10mm. One turn = 1mm so standard setting is 10 turns out from all the way in.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·