Votes: 159 60.9%
  • The 1098 & 1198

Votes: 34 13.0%
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Over the past few years I have sat on the sidelines of one of the greatest debates in Ducati history, the acceptance of the 999.

It was in 1999 I came across Ducati for the first time and it came in the form of the 998. Obviously as a decedent of the legendary 916 I immediately fell in love with it. I was only 12 years old but as we all know a bike like the 998 makes quite an impression. A few years later I stumbled over an ad for the 999 and once again those feelings of Italian passion came over me. (Just like I can imagine those feelings came over you too, absolute desire.) 4 years ago in 2005 my dad and I started riding and in the spring of 2006 I became the proud new owner of a red 999. It was at that moment I became Ducatisti, and I have never looked back. "My heart bleeds with the stain of Ducati red."

Its now a few years later and we have the 1098 and 1198. As happy as I am to see these bikes I cant help but notice some things. First of all I would like to say that I hope my opinion does not offend anyone. It is my own which I hope you will soon share.

The 916 was brilliant, I don't think there was a single soul who would argue this. The way that bike was styled was way before its time and the mechanics of it were equally brilliant. It was and will forever be a motorcycle icon expressing everything anyone would want..The 916 was fast, beautiful, and had the sexiness of a greek goddess.