Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

Ducati 998 Rear Brake Issues

983 views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  Heisenberg 
#1 ·
A few weeks ago I noticed my rear rotor felt/looked like something was digging into it (pictures below). It also felt like my rear brake was not working well. So I swapped bikes for a bit and put this one away until I had the time to look at it.

I'm not very good with mechanical stuff but I thought replacing the rear brake pads would be a good start. I just switched them out (old ones looked worn, but maybe had a small amount of life left) and my brake still feels soft. I am well aware that you aren't supposed to use the rear brake much, and I don't. But even pulling into my driveway my rear brake doesn't seem to slow the bike down much.

I swapped out my rear brake pedal during the winter and I feel like I might have fudged something up there, but I'm not sure what I might have done. There is a decent amount of play in my rear brake (more than both my 916's and the 998 I just got rid of) which is why I think I might have messed up.

I have bled my rear brake twice (with the caliper on top of the rotor). Not sure if this is normal, but when I hold down the rear brake and turn the nipple open, the rear brake drops so low it hits the fairing. Feels like 5" or so. Once I close the nipple that disappears, but still feels like a lot of play.

During my online searches I read that improper install of the brake pedal can cause extra rotor and brake pad wear. Wondering if you guys think this might be the case or not.

Not sure if these will help...

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I have bled my rear brake twice (with the caliper on top of the rotor). Not sure if this is normal, but when I hold down the rear brake and turn the nipple open, the rear brake drops so low it hits the fairing. Feels like 5" or so. Once I close the nipple that disappears, but still feels like a lot of play.