Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,
I'm new to Ducati world but I'm looking into buying one soon.
Currently I have 98 Ducati 748 with only 6K miles and 97 Ducati 916 with 14K miles on the market (both have same asking price) that I'm about to make an offer but I need some advise.
If I'm looking for the most reliable, good resell value and money worth to buy, which one should I choose? the 748 or 916?

Thank you for all advices....!!!

Bonaldi:)

·
Registered
9 Posts
It depends on the years you are comparing, what model years etc etc...
Some years are more exclusive then others, can you give more details on bikes. I sell you a 2002 748s Senna with 2320 for 8500.00.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It depends on the years you are comparing, what model years etc etc...
Some years are more exclusive then others, can you give more details on bikes. I sell you a 2002 748s Senna with 2320 for 8500.00.
Its 98 Ducati 748 vs 97 Ducati 916

Thanks!

·
Registered
9 Posts
I guess I should have read your original post more carefully. I am no expert by any means but the 97 916 was near perfection at that time period. With those year models the flaking problem was the issue. But depending on how good of a deal you are getting, go for it. Ducatis do require more "love" or "work" whichever you want to call it to maintain. But it is a DUCATI.

·
Registered
490 Posts
The 916 will have more power.

How can you go wrong with a 916?

I've had two.

·
Banned
11,256 Posts
Few things to keep in mind. The 748 and 916 are pretty much the same bikes with only the stroke and bore different. Otherwise they're the same motor and same components. A good 748 will put out roughly 15hp less then a 916, but the torq figures are more like 30lb's difference.