Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm a new Ducati 748 owner, but I've been riding for almost 18 years now. The worst possible thing happened the day after I registered my new baby. I was leaving the gas station at night on the way home from work and my front end locked up on top of a large piece of aluminumn (looked like a crushed tube about 20" long) and slid out from under me as I was trying to exit the station. God damned construction sites not cleaning up their shit.

Anyway, I wasn't hurt, was only barely moving. The bike didn't fair as well. The lower right fairing was destroyed, the carbon fiber clutch cover was destroyed, and 2 of the mounts for the clutch pressure plate broke (from the drum). I was so pissed that I actually managed to lift the bike up alone maybe 10 seconds after it touched the ground. The bike wouldn't run without throttle. My thought was that the offbalance weight of the broken clutch pressure plate mounts was throwing it off. So I had a friend come pick me up with a trailer and we brought it home.

Immediately when I arrived home, I ordered a used stock clutch assembly for a 748 on ebay, as well as a new clutch cover and a lower right fairing. My clutch that had broken only needed a new drum, since the mounts extending from the original had broken. When the ordered clutch got here, that was all I took from the assembly, cleaned it up, and put everything back together.

Now I'm having two problems.