Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I recently purchased an '03 749. I was riding a YZF 600R before. I am new to this Ducati scene. I am still getting used to the Dry-Clutch sound.

I have a few questions, not sure if this is supposed to happen or not on a Ducati.

1. I can't shift past 1st gear unless I am doing atleast 20mph.
2. When I rev it too fast, the clutch starts slipping at 6.5K RPM. I can the see the RPM indicator jumping to 8.5K+ RPM and engine whining like I pressed the clutch lever.
3. I have a vented clutch cover. Is this supposed to help the clutch cool down, or can I use a closed one to make the dry clutch sound more subtle?
4. Does anyone know where to get a yellow painted front fender? Mine has a carbon fiber one, I don't digg it!
5. I need some low-end power on this... I like the handling on this duc, but the low-end power isn't there.. Is 520-conversion kit a way to go or Can I buy some slip-on exhaust. I don't care much for top speed. I want more low-end acceleration.

My 749 is stock, except for foot-pegs and front fender.

Thanks,
Nibbler

·
Registered
19 Posts
Sounds to me like you need a clutch pack.
The low-end you're looking for is from torque (the v-twin makes heaps of it) and that will make a marginal clutch slip. If you're noticing slip, that's your midding "drive".
I'd put a new clutch pack in it before I did anything else.
If you don't like the noise of the dry clutch, a non-vented cover will mute it some -- still very audible though.
You can probably find someone willing to trade with you as mose people seem to want open covers for whatever reason...
Enjoy the ride!

·
Banned
11,256 Posts
Hi all,
I recently purchased an '03 749. I was riding a YZF 600R before. I am new to this Ducati scene. I am still getting used to the Dry-Clutch sound.