Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm still new to the MTS1200S, less than 3k miles on it. i'm used to more sport touring/sport bikes with heavy front ends. this saturday was out for one of my standard rides with the wife on the back, neither one of us would be considered 'hefty'. going into a curve, i felt the front end drifting out and had to correct immediately, thinking it could have been anything, i put her down again same speed, same angle and had same feel. i can't say i have this same feeling by myself, but not certain as most riding is with wife.

anyone else get the same feeling? is it just that the front end is that light and i have to get used to it?

·
Registered
3,847 Posts
Drop the nose few millimeters, or should I say raise the forks through the triples a bit and you'll find it's going to be way better, I did that and softerend the rebound on the front forks and now it's night and day, it holds a line beautifully.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Captain Obvious asks what tire pressures you had, and if the suspension was set up for a pillion...:rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Calvin,
You say you are new to the MTS but have you ridden other tall, long suspension travel bikes? What you describe may just be a feeling because of the "supermotard" engineering. Tall suspension with a lot of travel and therefore movement.

Other than that, check that the tyres are at the correct pressure. You should do this religiously as the Scorpions are a lightweight tyre with a thin carcass and seem(to me) to be more sensitive to minor pressure variations, especially if a bit low. Use a good pressure gauge and don't rely on a garage gauge.

Ducati say:
Front and Rear
2.50 bar (rider only) - 2.9 bar (with passenger and/or bags)
36.5PSI (rider only) - 42PSI (with passenger and/or bags)-