Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Disclaimer: Im not a mechanic, im not good at explaining things, perform at your own risk and most importantly, not responsible for damages caused by this DIY instructions.

Tools needed:
3,4 and 6mm hex key
12 and 13mm wrench
10mm socket wrench
Small pliers

Step 1: Disconnect the negative battery terminal.

a) Remove the tail cover, unscrew the two 3mm hex screw that is holding the compartment tray, lift up and you will see the battery. Use the 10mm socket wrench and set the terminal aside.

Step 2: Remove the seat to access the ECU.

a) Lift the outer rear edge of the seat and you will find a 3mm hex screw on each side. Remove the screw, lift the seat and pull back.

Step 3: Install the new ECU

a) Now that the seat is gone, the ECU is located under the two fuse box along with the battery. Simply pull the two fuse box out of their retaining clip and set aside. There are two 6mm hex screw that is holding the ECU in place, the right side screw also includes the power wire or maybe ground for the ECU. Remove the screws, wiggle it out and remove the two clamps for the connectors (push the pin and pull the lock) WARNING Do not use force, it should release and attach just from pulling and pushing the lock. Install the new ECU using the steps in reverse .

Step 4: Install the air filter.

a) The air filter is located on the right side below the tank. Unscrew the two 3mm hex screw on the front and the rear 4mm and remove the cover. Slide out the old filter, install the new one and replace the side cover.

Step 5: Exhaust installation.

a) I'm not going into details with this since its fairly self explanatory when you see how the exhaust attaches. Only thing you need to do is bend the hangers from the header pipe where the exhaust springs hooks. There is a bit of a slack when you install the exhaust springs without doing the above.