Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently did the 15K service myself and wanted to share what I have learned for others to see what's involved and maybe inspire other do it yourselfer's out there.

I'm not a Ducati mechanic just a motorcycle enthusiast who likes the satisfaction of working on my own bikes and saving money :D

My resources for this project were the official Ducati workshop manuel, Ducati Desmoquattro Maintenance & Modification Guide and CA Cycle Works.

Below is the PhotoBucket link to how I successfully checked & adjusted my valves.
Hope you enjoy.

Ducati Multistrada 1200 Valve Check and Adjustment :: IMG_0714.jpg picture by cessnatpa - Photobucket

·
Registered
3,755 Posts
A bit out of my league but thanks for posting this, at least I know where the $ goes when it's time for the svc.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Great stuff indeed. As others have said: if nothing else it helps me understand why the major services aren't cheap.

Hey, your topbox looks a lot like my old VFR topbox - could it be? ;)

·
Registered
131 Posts
Bigger cahunas than me Mate, good one you for having a crack. Great shots by the way and serves to confirm why I go to a dealer. As Clint says "A man's got to know his limitations"

·
Registered
43 Posts
Yeah nice work, made it look easy and inspires me to have a go in about 3k.

At a guess I'd say about 6 to 10 hours depending on skill, and requires the following:

Tools:
Full set of Allen keys and sockets 1/2" drive
General stuff like screwdrivers, pliers, hammers, feeler strips etc
Doesn't look like any special tools req'd (pullers, jigs, etc)
Oil change gear

Parts:
Timing belts
Shims (they look like Ducati parts not just caps that house shims)
Gasket kit for both heads and anything else that had a sealed flange
Thread locker, probably red, as there were no lock tabs or other retainers
Oil filter and new oil

Other:
A copy of those photos