Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this whole forum thing and to the whole idea of owning a Ducati.

I'm in the process of selling my third bike in two years, I seem to go through them fast. I started on a Ninja EX250, then to Suzuki's SV650S, and I am now trying to sell my R1. Herein lies the problem, I thought I could go a little while without a motorcycle, maybe until I finished college, but in the three weeks that my R1 has been on consignment, I have been dying to ride.

The reason I am selling the R1 is twofold: I am loaning my parents $5000 to help them through a little financial trouble, and also, the R1 is just too powerful for my uses, I never use the power past second gear, and when I do, I end up with tickets (or worse).

I am looking at the 749 dark as my next bike, I have loved the styling of the 749 and the 999 since they first came out, but I have always thought that Ducati's were too expensive for me to consider. But the 749 dark seems to be pretty reasonably priced for what you recieve.

Also, living in a college town there are a lot of guys on sportsbikes and I don't know if any of you go through this, but when some other guy pulls up on a bike that looks exactly like yours, it's kind of ruins whatever you had going, even if the bike looked sick before the other guy showed up. Over the past year I have just begun to get tired of all the Japanese bikes. Everyone and his brother have their Gixxer, CBR or R6...etc.