Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear DVT owners,

this is not a happy post, however I'm a happy camper since I just got my bike back from the dealer, it was 100hp, now 160, so I'm still recovering :grin2:

That said.....the left part of the nose fairing wasnt bolted on correctly...kinda negligent thh, fixed that myself, no biggy.
But most importantly, the GPS doesnt charge because the hard wiring failed.

The hardware:

As you can see the left part is just a cable, that part is hard wired to the bike directly.
I ASSUME to this connector beneath the fairing (bike is stored far from here so I cant check it):

Situation:
When starting up the bike, nothing happens to the gps, no charge.
Mechanic and myself watched as he tested the cable coming out the bike with a multimeter, there was current. (I am a noob btw)
Than connected the cradle, tested the 2 pins at the end, signals from both, this is the cause he said....
He said only 1 pin should have a signal, not both...There is short circuit he said
Sooooo, the cradle is faulty he/we concluded....

I was about to buy a new cradle....but than I had the idea to hook up the 'faulty' cradle to my other bike, my CB1100....
It worked perfectly!!!! :|

SO the cradle works fine!
Since he is a Garmin man, wity no tomtom experience, I assume he did something wrong with the hard wiring to the bike.

I mailed the shop...waiting for an answer now..
But I fear this can take longer than it should...
So, does anybody have an idea or tips about hard wiring a Tomtom to the DVT Multi?
Or what could be the issue here??

Thx

·
Registered
45 Posts
The connector you have shown is the sat nav power lead. the dealer should have stripped this connector of the 'bulky' sheath and connected the red and black wires from the TomTom.