Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So today I had the opportunity to ride on the world famous Assen track. Hadn't ridden there before, but gave it a whirl. First session went well, overtook a lot of supersports in the bends who then flew past me on the straights, and then I outbraked them again into the corners. It was a lot of fun.

Then 2nd session, there was someone riding in front of me on my lines, but very slow. I wanted to overtake him just before the corner, but for some reason he decided to slam on the brakes, which lead me to do the same. However, my front end didn't appreciate this and slid away. Crashed hard and all I could think about was my bike and my new suit. I've had the suit for literally 1 day, because I crashed my last suit 2 weeks ago on a KTM.

It's a lot of money down the drain and as a poor student I can't afford to pay the bills and fix the bike as well. So pissed at that guy, also at myself though. My knee is sprained, my calf is sore and same with the shoulder, but that will heal for free.

Did get some good pics before I went down though.

One really annoying factor on the track was the rearsets hitting the ground in every corner, I felt like I had so much more lean angle left.

I'll asses the damage tomorrow, but I think it won't be cheap. Quick look around the bike: Front right fairing, rear right fairing, right rearset, handlebar and throttle tube, front beak needs some paint touch-up, new levers and new leathers, again....

Still, I got pretty hooked on track riding, I actually wanted to jump back on the bike after the crash but my rearset didn't allow me to, too bad:rolleyes:

·
Registered
38 Posts
Sorry to hear about the fall. It's never fun going down.

BTW, are you wearing tissue paper for leathers? Most leathers will last longer than one spill.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry to hear about the fall. It's never fun going down.