Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
'74 - '75 Commando...

Thinking these may be the best of the '70s Brits, and would complete my desired (one modern - 996, two classic - Bevel twin + ???) sport bike stable.

Any experience here with these bikes? Be great to get some input.

TIA

·
Registered
126 Posts
'74 - '75 Commando...

Thinking these may be the best of the '70s Brits, and would complete my desired (one modern - 996, two classic - Bevel twin + ???) sport bike stable.

Any experience here with these bikes? Be great to get some input.

TIA
This is the longest I have been without a running Norton (7 years) since 1973 so I have some experience. 74 is one of the best years. Useful upgrades are later model isolasticis and a Norvil head stay. There is a good deal of support out there to keep them running. I do have a project in the back of the garage waiting for time.

·
Registered
47 Posts
I had a 75 Comando, left over 74 so it was still a kick start..nice bike ran good, it had 4200 miles, near perfect shape last year when I sold it...

I liked it but it wasn't a Ducati!

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
I am fond of Nortons. I bought a 72 Commando new way back when. I also raced a Production Roadracer back in the 70's. I also restored a 73 Commando (Combat Motor) in the ninties. I concur with Captaingumby that the later Commando's were the better ones to have. The early ones had problems with main bearings and the Combat motors seized easier due to higher compression. I think the 850's were a little detuned but much more reliable.

Mike

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #5