Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a leak from the master cylinder on my '96 900SS. Can't seem to find any rebuild info on the master. Anybody have to do this? Replacement masters cost is way up there at about $350. Yuk:eek:

·
Registered
733 Posts

·
Registered
735 Posts
clutch master . . .

I was able to buy a used clutch master cylinder from Brian Pierson @ empmotors.biz for less than $75 including shipping. Check with Mark @ woundedduc.net for used Ducati parts, too.

Fred

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
clutch master cylider rebuild

Cool looking mirrors. Never seen any like them. Still surprised you cant rebuild the cyclinders.

·
Registered
735 Posts
clutch master . . .

Glad you like my mirrors, Sluggo!
I made them using CatEye BM-300G bicycle mirrors, brass tube, custom machined brass bar-ends, and vacuum-formed styrene backs. They weigh almost nothing, and they are removeable & adjustable w/ a set screw. And, I can see what is behind me !

Fred

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
clutch master cylider rebuild

Just got into a Ducati Shop Manual and it says replace master cylinder not to rebuild.......oh well thanks:mad:

·
Registered
143 Posts
Just out of curiousity, has any repalced the coffin style MC with the cylinder type MC on their carbed Supersport?

·
Registered
400 Posts
I just rebuilt mine about a month ago, using a stock rebuild kit that I bought from Ducati of Seattle. They are still available, and dirt cheap.

The only hard part was digging out the old retaining ring for the dust boot. It goes in like a circlip, but has no holes to grab with a pair of circlip pliers. I wound up digging it out with a dental pick and a small screwdriver.