Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
684 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. As you will probably be aware I have been working on a number of carbon bits and pieces for the 91-97 super sports. The project that I am working on at present is the fuel tank. As I get near the point where I am going to start the first one I have decided to raise another thread away from my actual bike to gauge everyone's interest. The story so far is that I am 2/3 the way through the mould making process and hope to start laminating the first carbon parts for the finished products this time next week. Made from multiple layers of carbon I have chosen a chemically resistant resin to use for the laminating process. Reason being that I have had some bad experiences with tanks that have merely been coated with a resistant product in the past failing after the tank was damaged and the coating had cracked. This in turn allowed the fuel to get into the epoxy laminate and destroyed a very expensive tank. Here are the latest pics of where I am up to with the tank mould this week. PM me if interested.

Attachments

·
Registered
684 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Slow start to the day but the mould and plug are all back together. Normally the guys are here by 1000o'clock to deliver the resin so was not expecting it to arrive at all by 1300. Just after I had resigned myself to the fact it wasn't turning up until Monday, it arrived. Will get everything ready tomorrow for laying up the first part of the mould on Sunday.

Attachments

·
Registered
684 Posts
Discussion Starter #3