Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Only 26k miles, looks in great shape except someone tried to turn it into a "naked bike" look. Chrome headlight! So no bodywork or mounting pieces come with it, hasn't been started in years but I've got it cheap and it looks like it will only take a few hours to clean it up for riding.

From having a 91 as a daily driver I've got lots of spares and stuff lying around for it. Post pics in the next day or so.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Good for you!!
I bought my '95 back at 13,000 miles. I must say getting your new acquisition running etc. will likely take a bit longer than a few hours!
And, perhaps a few $$ too.
But, well worth it IMHO.
Looking forward to seeing the pictures too.

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I figure I will pull the fuel filter out of the tank first, it all looks clean in there peering through the cap. If I have any trouble with the carbs I will just put in the spare Mikuni rack I have from the first bike's swap to FCR's. The belts need a look, valves checked 200 miles ago, the tires are two years old but "new" - so, they will be ok for a few weeks. Have several spare batteries, brake pads are new, all the electrics (regulator, ignitors, spark wires, etc) were all just done before he stopped riding. New chain and gears 200 miles ago and they look it.

He said he drained the carbs and shut off the tank soon after the riding stopped so maybe it will be simple.

The guy he bought it from is the original owner and a long time well respected Porsche mechanic here in town. The 200 miles the second owner put on it are not significant.

·
Premium Member
615 Posts
Well now you have the second Gen. carby you know you will need to add a 3rd gen. as well. >:)
I've thought about doing this; getting an ie to go along with my carbie and my 939. There's also a 1977 860 GTS listed locally that I daydream about.

·
Premium Member
3,458 Posts