Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Should I buy used 08 hyper or wait for new 796 hyper?

I've been riding monster for the past five years. Finally test rode the 09 1100 hyper, loved it, sold my monster. Now, should I purchase a pre-owned 08 hyper from dealer with 8500 miles, fully stock, for $9500 OTD or wait and get the new 796 hyper? But the new 796 will probably cost $11500 OTD.

·
Registered
14 Posts
The used 1100 will definately have alot more power but comes with a little more weight. It is a buyers market and alot of good deals can be had buying from private party.

·
Registered
1,704 Posts
Wait until the 796 comes out then test ride it. Then you will truly know which bike is for you. If you think about it the only time you need to hit triple digits on the Hyper is if you take it to the track so the lighter weight of the 796 might pay off on back roads. I'm going to take it for a test ride when it hits the showroom.

·
Registered
346 Posts
When I was first looking at the Hyper in late 2007, I thought an 800 would
be a better fit for me (if only they had one). But now, one of the things I
really like about the bike is that torquey engine and the ability to just hit the
gas and go with no delay; no waiting for the revs to climb into the power band.
You can be cruising along and think "accelerate" and it's there at the flick of the
wrist. I often have the front wheel skimming a couple inches off the ground
under acceleration, even with an aggressive forward riding position. My pure
supermoto bike will do that as well, but it's more than 100 pounds lighter than
the HM. I don't think most 'mid-size' bikes have that kind of snap, and I would miss
it too much to go back now. The new 796 Hyper would have to be 50 pounds
lighter to make it really shine for me. Heck, you can shed 20 pounds off the
1100 version with just a few mods (like 2-into1 exhaust, bin the passenger pegs