Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 126 Posts

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, sorry for the long read in advance. I wanted to start this thread a while ago since there has been a lot of talk of rear brake issues in the past, I just sat back and decided to observe although there hasn't been much head-way made regarding the issue recently. Personally, I honestly am not sure the brake problem is entirely due to a design issue. Here is my reasoning (and please feel free to insert your thoughts since I'm not an expert in the matter and hence could be totally off...).

When I bought my bike, within 2 weeks, the rear brake fluid turned from semi clear/yellow to BLACK. I don't mean a little black. I mean almost all black. Braking was non existent when I picked it up and when the fluid had turned black, but then again, I can't really make any deductions from this since I went from having no rear brake to well... having no rear brake... Luckily after a couple of months the TSB came out so I took it in and got a free flush along with the fitting of the new hardware. Subsequently I did the exhaust change at the same time eliminating the extreme heat that the cat was producing. Well, the rear brake worked a little better than before. However, now after only about 8 months or so, the fluid is almost black again, and the rear brake bite has diminished.