Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My newly reassembled ST2 is in a no-start condition.It started ttwo days ago and rode a few miles.next day......click,click,click,goes the starter.So i believe it's getting voltage,but maybe weak.The battery sat most all of the last 4 months w/o charging.

I discovered i have an AMMETER function in my Mathesis kit.I'm unsure of what reading we'll like to see from the ammeter.It tells how much the charging system is workin to keep the battery good right?

My trouble,i'm a machinist,not an electrician

I also consider,i may have a parasitic draw of current but doubt that right now.

·
Mr Leakered
8,780 Posts
A fully charged batt will be at 13.3v. It should stay above 10v while cranking. If you see 9v coming up, your batt is weak.

You should see something higher than 13.3v above about 2,500 to 3,000 RPM.

Have a good one.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Check your starter circuit wire connections

You should check each starter wire connection for loose or corroded terminals either of which can cause a no start or slow cranking start.

While you are at it you might want to swap in upgraded wiring which you can get from any one of the vendors. I made my own from #2 guage wire from a marine supply shop and it did make a difference in how quickly the motor cranks and starts. I also replaced the started solenoid at the same time.

You might also want to invest in a battery tender to maintain a full charge, its money well spent.

I'm not an electrician either but I can fake it when needed. I'm in Tiverton, let me know if you need a hand.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #4