Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
I just posted to my blog a nice long step-by-step (with pictures) install and review of an APTC clutch install into my 2008 Hypermotard. I've never done anything like that before, so it was a fun learning experience. I just thought some people here might appreciate the information.

http://lookfirst.com/2009/08/project-aptc-adler-power-torque-clutch.html

cheers.
cool write-up ... the photos really help clearly illustrate the installation.

if you ever make it down to ducati bike night in either santana row or palo alto, please pm me, so i can look for you and your hypertard ... really want to see the clutch installed in person.

ciao,
johnc

·
Registered
177 Posts
Does this require special clutch plates, or do standard Ducati OEM and aftermarket plates fit? I realize it comes with a set, but I'm thinking future maintenance. Thanks.

·
Registered
290 Posts
great write up. Interesting banner ad at the bottom as well.

·
Registered
592 Posts
so talk to me about the loss of engine braking, is it only on a down shift you loose that initial engine braking? if i was at say 6000rpm in 2nd and just let go of the gas I will still have the same engine braking as before right?

is it adjustable? I like to get the back wheel to slide letting the clutch out but want to stop it hopping, is this tuneable?

is it quieter than the stock? mine is getting pretty noisy and worn out, as its using the original basket if its worn i guess its still a prob with this. it comes with new clutch plates right?

how much and who from?

·
Registered
3,032 Posts
I'll hop in and answer some of the questions since I've used the clutch and we sell it because we really like it.

@merovingian - the clutch pull is around half of the original clutch pull! It is quite unbelieveable how light the pull is actually.