Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for almost 15 years. Until recently I've never listened to music while riding. Curious if anyone else listens to music while riding?

I've only done this on back country roads. Wouldn't want to do this in traffic/city riding that's for sure.

I had one of my best rides the other day. Zero traffic, cool temps, music... I'm not religious, but. Man, that was one hell of a ride. Would have been great without music, but it was even better with it.

My guess is that some may think its dangerous and would never do this. I can clearly see how it can be too big of a distraction for some. I just can't believe after all these years I've never tried it.

To music, or not to music?

·
Registered
162 Posts
To music. I use headphones that just sit on the ear as opposed to in it, so I still maintain some semblance of external situational awareness. Don't see it being any different than a driver with his radio on in that regard.

·
Premium Member
377 Posts
When I take long rides I'll listen to music, I have about a gig of mp3's on the sd card in my gps so the music gets interrupted for driving directions then starts right back up.

·
Registered
208 Posts
I was ahead of my time back in the day, I bought two small speakers from Radio Shack and wired them into my Bell Helmet, locating them under the earfoam and leaving a pigtail with a plug, and the connected that to the output of a Sony Walkman. I kept the volume down and didn't use it often in any event, mostly on longer trips.

I love listening to my Ducati and don't really tour anymore, so I haven't had any inclination to bring the MP3 player along.

·
Still needs a life.
12,619 Posts
The musicis in my head. No external broadcast or recording devices are necessary.

·
Registered
494 Posts