Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Thinking about drilling the flapper blade off on my 2018 1260 and I was wondering if anyone has done it and if there are any issues? Will the servo and cable still operate as normal or does the flapper itself act as the stop endpoints, etc.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Hey guys,

Thinking about drilling the flapper blade off on my 2018 1260 and I was wondering if anyone has done it and if there are any issues? Will the servo and cable still operate as normal or does the flapper itself act as the stop endpoints, etc.
I've removed plenty while installing exhausts on various bikes (I work as a mech by day). Pretty sure you are referring to the exhaust valve. If you want to stop it from closing, remove the servo cables. This will keep any error from occurring (at least it does on other makes). I just installed a Two Brothers slip-on on an R6 that had me remove the servo to remove cables, then reinstall the motor for this very reason. A little safety wire where the cables attach will keep the valve in place. You very well may find that it leaves an undesirable effect, so I discourage "drilling".

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've removed plenty while installing exhausts on various bikes (I work as a mech by day). Pretty sure you are referring to the exhaust valve. If you want to stop it from closing, remove the servo cables. This will keep any error from occurring (at least it does on other makes). I just installed a Two Brothers slip-on on an R6 that had me remove the servo to remove cables, then reinstall the motor for this very reason. A little safety wire where the cables attach will keep the valve in place. You very well may find that it leaves an undesirable effect, so I discourage "drilling".