Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was just wondering...since don't need to worry about clutch lubrication, why pay more for a motorcycle specific oil ? Been using Mobil 1 with great success in both my Viper and Porsche. It's a superior oil.

Your opinions, please.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
Was just wondering...since don't need to worry about clutch lubrication, why pay more for a motorcycle specific oil ? Been using Mobil 1 with great success in both my Viper and Porsche. It's a superior oil.
I'm no oil expert but cars don't run engine oil in their trannys like bikes do, so the shear forces are less demanding in cars. Or something like that.

In any case, for how often you change oil in the bike is it really worth fretting over the $20 or whatever the difference is?

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
+1 On what DesmoDog said.

A bikes gearbox is a pretty nasty place for oil that hasn't been designed to withstand the environment. The gears can chop the chains of molecules fairly quickly, which is why cars have a different oil in their gearbox/transmission. Bikes being so much more compact generally don't have the space for 2 sumps so have to have oil formulated to survive the hostile environment. Car engine oil isn't designed to...

However using a car oil shouldn't present a problem if you change your oil very frequently, but seeing as Mobil 1 isn't a cheap oil by any stretch of the imagination, I can't see any cost advantage, TBH

·
Registered
48 Posts