Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm taking the plunge and removing the swingarm on my 2004 999 to have it powdercoated black. The weather has not been promising here in New England so I'm willing to sacrifice a few weeks.

I've searched in these forums, google, and in my Desmoquattro manual and haven't found much. Few questions...

1) Is it straightforward, out of 1-10 scale I would say I'm a 7.5 with tools/disassembly/reassembly.

2) Do I need to replace any parts when i'm reassembling (washers, gaskets...)

3) Do I need to compress the suspension or hang the bike from the frame?

Thanks for all your help! Can't wait to get cranking away!

-Chris

·
Registered
345 Posts
Caveat: I've not removed my swingarm so I have no first-hand experience.

According to my '05 manual, the bearings and roller bearings that the swingarm spindle rides on need to be replaced after removal.

The swingarm design changed from 04 to 05, so I don't know if it's the same bearing set-up. It may be worth securing those parts before beginning.

Hope this was a little helpful.

C

·
Registered
78 Posts
It can be done easily. Either hang the bike from the ceiling or support it from below with 2x4's or make a frame to support with 1 inch plumbing pipes. That is the toughest part. Remove fairing, rear wheel, exhaust pipes except header pipes. Remove shock and unbolt swingarm. No problem at all. Just make sure that when you put it back on, the bolt that goes through the swingarm from the right side has a oval area that fits in the oval area inside the swingarm. This really needs to be lined up right before you tighten the bolt. Normal socket wrenches with an extension will do it. Very easy. You should get the manual from desmotimes.com

·
Registered
778 Posts
^^pretty much what I did. Home Depot for the pipes: