Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, I have read a number of threads with regards to this topic, but I have another question. I've been riding for about 6 years, started on a cruiser that did nothing for me, then found true enjoyment on a ST3 which I've had for a few years, but want something sportier. I'm now looking to maybe do some track days and take my riding experience to the next level. For this task I'm looking at either a ss1000ds or an '06 999. My question is which will give me more "confidence" both on the track, and in twisties. Don't get me wrong, I have no intention of riding beyond my skill level, but would like a bike to allow me to start, learn, and grow with, but not out-grow anytime soon. I will probably be doing more weekend riding on local twisties than on the track, maybe 80/20, at least to start. Both are "comfortable" to sit on, but unfortunately do not have the opportunity to test ride either.

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
I have both a 900SS and a 748R and have ridden both on the street and on track days.

Your choice should favor the majority of riding you intend to do. Both the bikes you are considering handle well on street and track. The 1000SS has a very user-friendly powerband (mid-range focused), while the 4V 999 likes to rev. Simply put, if your street usage exceeds your track days, choose the SS, while if the reverse is true, the SBK is the better tool. There is no bad decision here, IMO.

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
bking said:
My question is which will give me more "confidence" both on the track, and in twisties. Don't get me wrong, I have no intention of riding beyond my skill level, but would like a bike to allow me to start, learn, and grow with, but not out-grow anytime soon.
Based on those statements... the 999, IMHO.

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
rz33v4 said:
I have both a 900SS and a 748R and have ridden both on the street and on track days.