Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been shopping around for a used 2009 or 2010 M1100S for quite a while now but with no luck. I haven't been able to find one for sale.

Recently, I've been thinking that maybe it would be a better idea to pick up a non-S 1100 and just buy aftermarket Ohlins suspension for it? I've heard that the Ohlins on the S model is pretty low end regardless and the lower end stuff from the Ohlins dealer is much better anyways.

Any thoughts or comments?

·
Registered
110 Posts
I had an '09 1100 (non S) and never messed with the suspension; I wanted to, but just never got around to it.. I traded it in this summer for a '12 1100evo and as part of the purchase, I bit the bullet and bought the Ohlins rear (DU-737) shock with it. They had to re-spring it for my weight, which was included with the purchase price. I had the rear installed at my 600 mile service, and then proceeded to put 7500 miles on it over the next 36 days. Was it worth it? HELL YA! the difference was insane.