Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I’m a rookie motorist along with being an owner of a brand new Streetfighter 848. Before this past week my experience on a bike was very limited (2-3 hours) but I just finished my Basic Rider’s Course that endorsed me to ride 649 CC’s and under. I plan on taking the test for 650 and higher in the next week or two but upon completing my course I came home and hopped on my bike. I road it around a little bit and then got some courage to get on the streets. Well to make a long story short, I put 27 miles on it and I now have some basic questions below…

1) When I bought my bike last week before completing my course, the salesman at the dealership said to never "dry shift". Does that mean to never shift up or down when the bike isn't moving? I ask because what if I need to make an abrupt stop and I’m in 3rd or 4th gear; can I pull the clutch and quickly downshift to 1st gear as I'm approaching my stop without "engine braking"? Keep in mind, I'm pretty new to the whole shifting concept on a bike and I don't want to develop any bad habits.

2) While I was shifting to 2nd, 3rd, and 4th gears yesterday I was usually doing it between 3000-3500 RPM. Is that too low or high? I know my Owner's Manual says for the first 1000km (600 miles) I shouldn't take the RPM above 5500 or so RPM, so I was trying to be careful.

3) This is in reference to my question above. What's the typical best RPM for cruising and maintaining speed? I found myself doing that around 3000 RPM.

Any feedback, tips, or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
218 Posts
The 848 is to much bike for you at the moment....

But here are a few tips.... ride where you feel comfortable at. Never and I mean NEVER ride out of your league.. Things can get ugly very quick.