Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering, I've been scoping several Ducs for the past several months, and I've finally decided, that despite my better judgement, my first duc will not be a new from the dealer purchase, but rather a used, older peice to get my feet wet on.

I've been looking at two different bikes. One is a 2000 748 Bip with 4200 miles a few mods, overall a generally nice bike.

The other one is a 1999 748 mono (which is what I really want). Had about 5,000 miles on it, full docs, ect.

For a used 748 in B+ or A- condition, what should be a fair market value? I don't want to get ripped, but I also don't mind paying for the perfect bike.

Thanks.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I'd glance over the values at Edmunds, KBB, and whatever other online value calculators you can find first to get an average idea of what the going rates are. Prices usually vary wildly based on the mileage and any service records that are available. I'd lean towards the bike with docs personally. Plus, I'm partial to monos. ;)

That said, make sure the belts have been changed recently due to the age of the '99. You wouldn't want it blowing up on your first canyon ride lol. Also if it hasn't been done recently, swap out the fluids: oil, coolant, brake, & clutch.

I'm pretty sure that '99 was when they switched to the 3-phase charging system on the superbikes, so that's a good thing.

Good luck with your purchase.

·
Registered
681 Posts
i have a '99 mono 748 and i paid 7k for it with 3300miles on it.

From what ive seen though, prices seem to vary greatly depending on what part of the country your in as well.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4