Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a brand new duc owner and im trying to figure out what the 999's counterpart is in the jap world. The guy i bought it from said that he used to hang with the 600's on the track. So i guess what im asking is this, is the 999 closer to a 600 or to a 1000? I have never ridden a liter bike so i don't know how to compare it. Thanks.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Like you I am new to the Ducati scene and have an '05 999. But I have a long history of jap bikes.

Modern jap 600s these days are putting out 105~115whp and 1000s are at 150~175ish whp. The latter hp figures would require some fairly involved engine work.

I don't know what the exact power output of a stock 999 is, but a quick google search says that the '05 999 is at 140hp at crank; and with at 15% drive train loss that'd put it at right around 119.

aka an 05 999 with a couple of toys would be quicker than a modern day 600, but nowhere near a 750/1000.

But brute power is not why you ride a duc is it??

I haven't even rode my 999 yet but I'm willing to bet its nothing like a jap.

·
Premium Member
2,373 Posts
It is comparable in its stock form to a GSXR 750. Now the R version is very comparable to the 1000's. The newer Ducati liter bikes are on par with the new liter jap bikes, Ducati got its power act together on the new line :)

·
Banned
11,256 Posts
I am a brand new duc owner and im trying to figure out what the 999's counterpart is in the jap world. The guy i bought it from said that he used to hang with the 600's on the track. So i guess what im asking is this, is the 999 closer to a 600 or to a 1000? I have never ridden a liter bike so i don't know how to compare it. Thanks.
Stock, base 999's have the torq of a 1000 inline 4, but don't have the top end. I agree its more like a 750 inline 4, then anything else. Hence the reason why back in the day 750's raced against 999cc ducati's.