Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everybody,

for a few years I ride in competition (little endurance, 300 Miles, 4h30) with a 620 equipped with a stock 900ie

I am assembling a new engine:
- 748R crankcase
- 1000DS frank
- 900 conrods
- 900 cylinders with JE Pistons
- 900 cylinders head with head porting
- 748 gearbox
- 999RS fmywheel

I made some modifications on the case for the rear piston jet cooling and NJ207-ECP-C3 crank bearing

For the race (500 Miles, 6h30 this year) I intend to assemble the engine with a volumetric ratio of 11.5 : 1 to use SP98 gasoline

With pistons I currently have 13.4: 1 with DH 1mm

And here I have a dilemma, either I only change the pistons, or I put DH 1.4mm + modification of the pistons.


What do you think with the Ducati connecting rods?
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
i wouldn't increase the deck height - that'll make it more likely to detonate.

modify the piston or put a flat top piston in it. oem 900ie pistons are lighter than the carby ones.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what I think too but for an endurance race I hesitated

The old engine is a 900ie ;-)

By the way I think I'll have a good time to adjust the injection correctly with the new displacement
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
if it has 620 throttle bodies still you could drop 1000 tables and breaks into the 620 file. or fit 800/1000 throttle bodies, set the throttle opening for the correct closed setting and use a 1000 file as a guesstimate.

how does the swingarm pivot work with the 748r cases?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
if it has 620 throttle bodies still you could drop 1000 tables and breaks into the 620 file. or fit 800/1000 throttle bodies, set the throttle opening for the correct closed setting and use a 1000 file as a guesstimate.
I have 900SSie Throttle bodies
Unfortunatly my bike is a 1998/1999 SSie with 15M-A0, not the A8
I can not directly put a MAP of 1000 (if I'm not mistaken) in my 900SSie ECU

how does the swingarm pivot work with the 748r cases?
I was waiting for the this question >:)

When I bought the bike the engine was already on SBK cases, but the assembly was poorly done, the axis turned directly into the aluminum cases.....
The rigging was done with badly cut tube :|

I installed bronze rings in the crankcase (see pictures), stainless steel spacers to make the lateral setting and external plates
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
You're right, I have a 1000MTS DP map, I just have to find the XDF to read the injection values and replace them in the MAP of my 900ie !

It will make me a good starting point to adjust
 

·
Excel Addict
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
You're right, I have a 1000MTS DP map, I just have to find the XDF to read the injection values and replace them in the MAP of my 900ie !

It will make me a good starting point to adjust
Attached XDF for the A0 variant - just remove the .pdf
 

Attachments

·
Excel Addict
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
Thank you @Punch !

Now I search XDF for 1000DS 0:)
Try these, DP first. Warwick Harris did them. User name warwickh

They are for a 5AM. Can you post the bin file you have please.

You will need to do the main fuel map obviously and the offset map.

Check/compare ignition tables as well.
 

Attachments

·
Excel Addict
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
I read back through the various posts.

Not sure why you are wanting to use the MTS 1000 DP bin file, although it will give you some idea after using Belter's suggestion on dividing by 59 for 8bit and 16 bit.

Why not start with a 900 DP bin file and adjust from there for your new capacity?

The attachments are for a 15M A8.

XDF for the A8.
900ssie02_DP_Base_Stock_Offset.bin.pdf is the DP for a 2002 900SSie.
900SS_2002_DP_Mods_by_Punch.bin.pdf is the result of many logs on Andreas 2002.
Andreas moved to using a 5AM so the work stopped. I am running this bin in my 2001 and it runs well, however I have not had time to log it yet.
It still needed a bit of work, but certainly better than where we started.

You can use the A8 XDF and whichever bin file attached you prefer in Tunerpro, then copy and paste whatever tables you want to Excel.
After that you can modify the tables in Excel.
Then open the A0 bin file in Tunerpro with the A0 XDF and paste from Excel to the tables you want to change.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Here I am back from holiday !

I finished the engine this week

For the first start I think I'll just use a MAP 900DP
After I wondered if I was going to leave on the values of the Ducati Performance MAP for 944 ST2

I need to compare 900SSie DP / 944 ST2 DP / 1000SSie DP
 

·
Excel Addict
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
Here I am back from holiday !

I finished the engine this week

For the first start I think I'll just use a MAP 900DP
After I wondered if I was going to leave on the values of the Ducati Performance MAP for 944 ST2

I need to compare 900SSie DP / 944 ST2 DP / 1000SSie DP
Can you post the bin file for the ST2 please.
You will need to add .pdf after the .bin extension.
It would be interesting to see how it differs from 900SSie DP.
I have an XDF for the 16M that works with ST2 and 916 if you do not have an XDF as yet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
compared to the 900 it should need a bit more fuel in the midrange due to the capacity increase (5%) and some more at the top end due to the porting (if it's any good). the comp might be an issue, but just take timing out until it stops pinging. have you changed the cam timing?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Yes I have change the cam timing, now 108° centerline

Attached is the ST2 bin file


Someone has already tried throttle body of 916 on a 2V like Ducati Kaemna ?
 

Attachments

·
Excel Addict
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
Yes I have change the cam timing, now 108° centerline

Attached is the ST2 bin file
Hi there,
That bin file size is 32kb and should be 64.
All I see is zeroes in the XDF.

Also, would you(or anyone) happen top have a stock ST2 bin file?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
if it has 13.5:1 comp then it'll ping pretty bad i'd think, and advancing the cams will only make it worse.

to make a 32k file into a 64k file just open it in a hex editor and add a block of 00 or ff from 0000 to 7fff. they read the last 32k, first 32k is not used.

then the xdf will work and all will be right in the world again.
 
1 - 20 of 45 Posts
Top