Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help, my monster is starting up just fine and running, however it is not making power under load and will just sputter and die. I bought the bike with a jet kit in it and other mods done to it. However I have been riding the bike for a few years without much incident except for pretty lousy gas mileage and a slew of fouled plugs. Any suggestions? should i put in a different jet kit? the bike is always ridden at sea level, but the size of some of the jets seems pretty off. I have to get the bike back on the road ASAP. Thanks

·
Registered
113 Posts
Probably worn needles in the carbs...hince the poor gas mileage and fouled plugs. Seem to remember that can be an issue on the carbed models from that vintage. If so, new set of needles should fix her right up. Good luck!

·
Registered
113 Posts
How about the emulsion tubes...found this with a quick search:

Check the emulsion tubes in your carbs. They are prone to needle wearing them. I think the tubes are copper. The needle rubs against them, and over time they get oval shaped inside. The bike gets progressively richer. Which is why your plugs are fouling.

I would guess that if it isn't related to the needles/emulsion tubes that it must be a jetting problem. Has it done this since you bought it or slowly crept up on you?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
did the emulsion tubes with the needles. I have a factory pro jet kit coming. hopefully this will work, if not its going in to the dealership

·
Registered
113 Posts