Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding a '95 900SS for the past 10 years (and love it) and am now contemplating getting a 916 ..... does anybody have experience with both to give me an idea of the difference between them for riding experience, upkeep etc?

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
I've had a couple 900's over the years and have had a 996 since 2000.

IMHO the 900 makes a MUCH better streetbike than the 996. It's a lot more comfortable, the maintanence is simpler, and you dan't have to be going 90mph for it to feel ok.

I like the 996, but the 900's make a lot more sense to me. So why don't I still own a 900 instead of the 996? I dunno. I always planned on buying yet another 900ss but I just put a deposit down on an 851 so the 900 will have to wait a little longer.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts
After so many years on your 900SS, I would offer the suggestion that a weekend on a 916 et al, would be enough to let you know how you feel about it. If that weekend is on a racetrack you might want to buy it, but riding everywhere else the 900SS is more geared toward the real world of driving - in my opinion. I like both, have thousands of miles on both, and the 851/888 is still my favorite of all of them. Fuel injection is nice.

·
Registered
8,545 Posts
Since 1998, I've owned two SS/SP's, two 998s and my current SS1000DS. Your size may influence comfort. So, for comparison I am (now) 5'9" and 185 lbs. I found both my SS/SP's to fit me really well. I was not uncomfortable on the 998's and have done 500 mi. days on them. I've also done two 1,000 mi. days on the SS1000DS in comfort. If I had to choose just based on comfort and doing a lot of in town riding it would be an SS?SP. OTOH I have no problems with the SS1000DS and would own another 998 in a heartbeat. Really, it all depends on you. IMO, given maintenance costs and overall performance, the best bang for your buck is the SS1000DS.

·