Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a 95 900ss/cr (unfortunately not an sp) for sale with 22,000 miles. The person selling it has put 11,000 miles on it and has done no maintenance other than oil changes. He said the previous owner did a valve adjustment and changed the timing belts right before he bought it but has no service records. Obviously the bike will need new timing belts and a valve adjustment. Probably a new chain and new jets in the carbs (I have read they need replacement after ~10,000 miles). I am mechanically inclined and plan on doing the work to the bike myself. I have never worked on a Duc before but have read a lot of articles and watched some how to videos and the work seems pretty straight forward. What are your thoughts? Can there be a lot of damage to the valves since they have not been adjusted in ~11,000 miles?

Thanx

·
Registered
269 Posts
I found a 95 900ss/cr (unfortunately not an sp) for sale with 22,000 miles. The person selling it has put 11,000 miles on it and has done no maintenance other than oil changes. He said the previous owner did a valve adjustment and changed the timing belts right before he bought it but has no service records. Obviously the bike will need new timing belts and a valve adjustment. Probably a new chain and new jets in the carbs (I have read they need replacement after ~10,000 miles). I am mechanically inclined and plan on doing the work to the bike myself. I have never worked on a Duc before but have read a lot of articles and watched some how to videos and the work seems pretty straight forward. What are your thoughts? Can there be a lot of damage to the valves since they have not been adjusted in ~11,000 miles?

Thanx