Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading the thread - $8k for a '007 800SS a good deal or not - and again there is all this speak of this bike being such a great 'starter' bike. I'm just not getting it. :confused: I've been riding motorcycles for over 30 years (rode before I drove, so keep the old-man jokes to a minimum) and I bought a 2006 800SS.

I ride not only with other Ducatisti, but a Busa AND a ZX-14 almost every weekend (in the summer-time, anyway - snow sucks!). I can't remember one time when they had to wait up for me. Not at all ! ! ! ;)

I think the only bike I'd rather have right now might be the 848. But, that didn't exist when I bought mine almost two years ago.

Now, I've ridden the Busa and some other liter bikes and that extra power IS nice to have. But, since I'm not on the track, and I'm not specifically into seeing just how fast I can go in a straight line, I've got to say, I love my bike and like I said, excepting the 848, there's nothing else I'd rather ride - period!

Call me a wimp but that's my take and I'm sticking to it.

·
Registered
38 Posts
No arguments from me! I agree that it is "enough" power. But there is the world of superbikes out there and the japanese companies don't distinguish superbike from supersport very well. Their supersport IS their superbike. So I think some of us who eventually want to ride around on a superbike, feel the supersport is the perfect stepping stone.

I completely see your point though and it is a good one! Very valid!

·
Registered
36 Posts
I was not trying to imply that the SS was a good starter bike, just that it is a good 'starter Ducati.' Since this is my first ducati, I think that it is an incredible machine.

This is after having ridden for the past 9 years of course. I would not recommend it as a learner bike / Starter bike for a novice.