Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When the Diavel sells; I am planning on replacing with an older Duc that will still yield good performance without breaking the bank. If depreciation is low or flat that would also be nice.
I have owned two 999 bikes in the past (a base and an S model). So, I figure a nice clean R model would be a nice Sunday ride. But, I am also intrigued by the 888 allure but cannot seem to find a lot of information regarding that bike. I owned a 900 SS in the past and thought maybe the 888 would satisfy that classic Duc look while giving a more thrilling ride than the 900?
Any input regarding the 888 (maintenance, issues, etc.) from you guys would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Scott

·
Registered
190 Posts
I have no experience with the specific bikes you're asking about but I have to ask, because something about your question seems odd. You're skipping right over what seems like the default choice in a classic Ducati superbike, the 916-era bikes. Any reason for that?

·
Registered
387 Posts
I think if you're looking for a thrilling ride, it'd definitely be the R.

·
Registered
938 Posts
I own both as well as a 916, 1098S and 1199S. I use to own a 900SS/SP. The 888 and 999R are certainly a step up in terms of engine performance, but the extra mass and higher placement of mass that comes along with water cooling makes it less clear that the later bikes are a step up in terms of handling.