Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Termi's Seem to be the most Expensive.
Arrows Seem to be the cheapest

i just seem the G&G's & i think they look the nicest!

but they all sound the same.

also do all slip-on's have to have the ECU tuned?

(sorry im a newbie)

·
Registered
481 Posts
Larry,

We've personally tested almost a dozen different slip-ons on the 1098's/848 by now, and to be honest there wasn't one option that really sounded bad, but there is no question they get better from one to another!

Our favorites so far are the:

Competition Werkes AfterBurner Exhaust - They ROCK!

FMF Apex Pipes - 2nd place in the sound contest, just behind the Comp Werkes, but arguably a higher tech/quality pipe due to its use of carbon fiber and titanium.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
not sure if i like the look of the AfterBurner Exhuast, i like the look of the Apex Pipes, but i still think the G&G look the best,

what about having the PCM/ECU tuned? does it have to be done with any system?

·
Registered
16,908 Posts
The QD sound very good and are built for performance--not just looks. Some MFG's don't even look at a dyno to build their systems and they outsource the entire MFG process.

-M

·
Registered
481 Posts
Which are QD?
Quat D

Their quality is great, as is the quality of the Leo Vince's, FMF's, Comp Werkes, Akrapovics, Zards, MotoCorse's, and amazingly - even the Two Brothers pipes are made quite well, and they will all increase your HP, the Zards claim the highest gain, at 6.5HP, but the standard seems to be around 4-5HP for the 848's, and most differences could easily be based on dyno variability, as they all essentially do the same thing (although some do have some unique features, the effectiveness is questionable).

There are a few brands to stay away from, but stick with any of the above and you'll be fine.