Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone see anything in the following screenshot that is a smoking gun for a huge stumble from about 7500-9000 RPM when over about 30% throttle? I'm totally new to this fuel injected motorcycle thing. I'm pretty savvy on jets and needles but this stuff is quite a bit more finicky.

I appreciate the help. The bike is a 2005 749R with larger injectors and 57mm termi system.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,656 Posts
First thing to know is that's not really your fuel map. It's the fuel table stored in your Power Commander meant to lie to your bike by adding or subtracting injector "on" time after the ECU. It essentially intercepts the trigger to your injectors and adjusts the amount of fuel based on TPS and RPM. Your bike's real fuel map is stored in the ECU.

There was a time when Power Commanders were all we had once Ducati when to small ECUs that didn't let you replace the chip. That time is long gone. You can get maps flashed on your ECU pretty easily these days.

No idea the history of you and that bike in question, but I'll assume it's new to you. Step one. Remove the Power Commander. Run the bike. If you have an improvement, reconnect the PC and load an all zero map. Back to the problem? Ditch the PC and get a good ECU flash to match the bike's set up. Bike still runs good with the PC connected and an all zero map? Find a more suitable map, you can have a custom map made, or ditch the PC and and get a real map for your ECU.

Bike still stumbles with the PC disconnected? Trouble shoot the bike. Could be as simple as a baseline set up.

·
Premium Member
876 Posts