Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've owned a 2001 748R for 3 years now, and for the last 2 it's been sitting in my carport in Guam. Military housing doesn't offer completely enclosed garages either. Guam is a tiny island in the Pacific just above the equator, which equates to a very humid environment. That much humidity leads to lots of metal oxidation. And strangely... mud wasps, which have an disturbing habit of nesting on my tires and exhaust piping. :mad:

Before I leave this duty station I will repair and refit this bike. Hence the build thread.

Only thing that I really have going for me: I'm a US Navy machinist with a complete machine shop and free raw materials at my disposal. Not such a small thing. A good deal of billet parts will probably be going onto this machine. :D

The end product will be a 748R with most all components tri-colored in the Italian fashion and themed with Washington State (home) in mind.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here are some of the original conditions and their problems.

The full bike, though slightly disassembled.

Calcium(?) build up on reservoirs. They're definitely getting replaced with custom billet.

Wasp nests in very inconvenient places.

Front fairing stays are cracked. Picture is of only one, but they're both in the same condition.

Slow drop on the side. Fairings need some work.

Brake lever handle is broken from the drop. Needs to be replaced... more billet!

·
Premium Member
2,244 Posts
Are you sure that's an R? The 01 748R comes with Ohlins forks and I think a rear shock too.

Good luck on your project! There's tons of reference and help on here. I saw someone else with a red one whose bike was on an island and had some of the same corrosion issues. He was running a restoration topic too if you want to do a search.

·
Registered
188 Posts
No oil cooler and nothing on the top tripple clamp????

Ta

MF

·
Registered
797 Posts