Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello there fellow Duc owners. I'm new to the Ducati world. A one month old newbie. I just acquired a 1998 748 in great condition. The bike was always garaged and well maintained service records to prove it. I bought it with 11k on the clock.
After putting 2k on the bike. It is now acting up. A couple of times on a few rides the bike started to sputter then it would go away. A few weeks ago it started to get worse then it went away. This past weekend as I'm riding with some friends I had no issues. When all of a sudden the idle gets rough rolling to a stop light. The bike dies. I quickly fire it back up. As I try to keep the bike running it dies again. Now it won't crank over. Dead battery. I walk it off the street and check the battery. The negative battery cable is loose. After a few calls I get a hold of a friend to help me get the bike somwhere safe.

I remove the battery and get it tested. I was told the battery had a low charge and it needed to be charged. A day later I reinstall the battery, the bike fires right up no issues. NO stumbling. I let it idle for a bit I'm like yeah. I proceed to ride the bike home 30 mile commute. Still no issues.
Just as I pull off the highway the bike begins to stumble the rough idle is back and the bike dies. I try to fire it up and no luck battery doesn't have enough juice to get it started.

Most people walk their dogs. I walked my Duc home two miles. What a work out.
My truck is at the location where I picked my bike up from.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Bummed Duc owner.
:(

·
Registered
923 Posts
pretty simple, voltage regulator, rectifier or stator....something charging sytem related since your battery does not appear to be getting charged

·
Registered
50 Posts
fuse

sounds like my identical problem. It turned out to be the fuse for the charging system. A $3 fix.... might want to check that out