Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!

$500 S4R Project/Restomod

12519 Views 51 Replies 16 Participants Last post by  fastgas
Hi, I'm going to begin documenting the restomod process for my newest ultra-low-buck-chuck project bike here. I will, of course, be soliciting advice given that I have no experience with 4V ducati engines. Background: it runs, it cost $500, 6.xxx miles, gas tank is dented.
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

· Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
What a deal. Can't wait to see the progress you make on it! Do you plan to do a full tear down?
I haven't decided yet. This is definitely a rider-quality bike and I had intentions of initially restoring to a reliable, loaner-spec setup for visiting friends and family that I refuse access to my nicer bikes. The only obstacles to that are basic tires/valves/belts and this ding in the front rim:

I do have a number of hypermotard parts this bike will inherit where possible.

· Registered
2,297 Posts
Ouch. That’s a great deal though. I’ve been on the search for one in those exact colors for a reasonable price. $500…….far and away below the “reasonable” price range I set for myself.

· Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ouch. That’s a great deal though. I’ve been on the search for one in those exact colors for a reasonable price. $500…….far and away below the “reasonable” price range I set for myself.
I have the wheel off and the bearings tapped out. There's a local wheel repair outfit that will make it as good as new. I originally wanted to replace these with something lighter and more contemporary but the white 5 spokes are absolutely perfect on this bike. So once the front is fixed I will submit both front and rear for fresh powdercoat and go from there.

· Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I'll give you $600 for it, and save you the trouble of fixing it up.