Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Tightly Clenched...
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pretty sure I read somewhere (likely here) that it's really not worth it in terms of power gain to fit 40mm Dellortos to the Darmahs?

Can anyone elaborate? Yes or no, reasons either way? I've got 36mm carbs on mine currently but pretty sure I had 40's on my SD when I owned one in the 80's...that long ago I can't recall to compare the two.

·
Registered
2,446 Posts
I'm no expert, but I doubt that you would notice a difference on the road, plus there are problems: the Darmahs have smaller inlet tracts and narrower stud spacings, so that the SS 40mm manifolds won't fit. Some Darmahs came with 40mm carbs, but with special manifolds to allow them to fit to the narrower stud spacings.

On a more practical note, bigger carbs mean slower gas speed into the cylinder, which means poorer running at lower revs, which means a narrower power band. I reckon that your 36 mm Dell'Ortos are a good compromise and if your bike runs well I would leave alone. Just my thoughts!

·
Tightly Clenched...
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You're probably right, I saw some decently priced ones and it got me thinking about things. I don't really want to mod the SD much at all to be honest, guess I've got too much time on my hands lol

·
Registered
241 Posts
I tried 40mm carbs (SS Carbs) on my 750GT when I first bought it to see what would "happen". Mind you I was running Sport Pistons by this time. Basically mid-range was gutless, however top end jumped. Since this was back in 1974/5 I really can't remember by how much. The bike came with 30mm, but I found 36mm to be the best balance. Great mid-range with the Sport Pistons.

·
Registered
1,288 Posts