Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,
I just completed a valve adjust and belt change and other 18k service tasks on my 2016 MTS 1200 Enduro with the DVT engine.
I had looked through this forum for information and knowledge about the DVT engine Valve and Belt work, and I posted my inquiry as such, with really not much useful information gathered, and no one I found on this site who had actually completed a DIY , DVT Valve Belt service.
I did find one person along the way, who was almost complete with his DIY engine service on his DVT Multistrada, and he shared a lot with me in text and e-mail which was very very helpful!!!! Many Thanks again!
So I hope in this brief explanation to give some information that I wish I had found when I started.
I studied for about a month before I began and then chose my own path from the pieces of information I was able to find.
I used the Ducati Multistrada T.D.C. CONTROL GAUGE - 887135009 set in place with longer M6 bolts with the horizontal belt still on, in order to learn how the crank lined up when hand cranking the engine. It takes 40 rotations to go from a Home position, such as the factory crank dot lined up exactly with the case mark and have it return exactly to the same alignment. However any previous belt alignment marks DO NOT line up again.
To begin the work, I marked the belts and Cam pulleys as described in this Very Excellent video by Brotheus here is the link:
Thank You Brotheus!!!!
Then I pulled the belts with the crank cog lined up in the "home Position set with the TDC control tool, and the vertical cylinder Cams set with My shop made cam lock tool, and immediately reset the TDC control tool back in place now with the belts removed.