Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which one to chose? Prices are similar.

2005 999S, factory race kit, 18K miles.

------OR-----

2003 999R, full exhaust, large tank, 4K miles.

Carbon fiber and forged wheels notwithstanding, I am wondering how similar these bikes are. Anybody have experience with both? I am intimately familiar with the 05 999R bikes. I have no experience with the '03 R bikes. Bike will be used for short weekend hops.

·
Super Senior Poster
6,328 Posts
999R w/o even thinking about it twice! I like the sand casted swinger and Ducati "racing grey" frame color.....plus all the carbon fiber, actually more cf than in the newer versions. All the extra bits you get w/ a R model...rear stand, placard, cover, etc. At 4000 miles its pratically new!

·
Registered
180 Posts
R it up!

·
Registered
680 Posts
Which one to chose? Prices are similar.

2005 999S, factory race kit, 18K miles.

------OR-----

2003 999R, full exhaust, large tank, 4K miles.

Carbon fiber and forged wheels notwithstanding, I am wondering how similar these bikes are. Anybody have experience with both? I am intimately familiar with the 05 999R bikes. I have no experience with the '03 R bikes. Bike will be used for short weekend hops.
The '05 R makes an easy 10 more HP than the '03/'04 which is basicaly a short stroke bigger bore 999S. For the same price the R sounds better and if a Fila could become colectable.

·
Premium Member
2,374 Posts
Get the R. You could change the swing arm if you really wanted to.

·
Registered
605 Posts
What they all said. Dave (too many motorcycles for my own good, including the recently acquired 05 999R Xerox.)

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
999S, changes where made to the 999 in 05.
I think it was only the bodywork and swingarm that changed on the R. Engine still the deep sump...right?