Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just acquired a 2001 SS900ie with 1091 miles on the clock and probably unused since 2003. So far, I've only replaced the battery (totally dead) and the spark plugs (fouled - black and sooty). Also, I added about 1.5 gallons of fresh high-test fuel with and ounce of Star Tron mixed in. It would then turn over but would not fire at all. During rotation by the starter, there was occasionally an annoying clunk, but I'm hoping this was just "slack" in the starter-to-crank driveline, but I have no prior experience with the SuperSport line, so I don't know. My guess on the non-firing is lack of fuel. I did not hear the fuel pump turn on, which I would have thought would be audible. So there's my problem. The bike is near perfect visually but not running. Suggestions?

·
Premium Member
1,387 Posts
Fuel
Filter
Belts
Plugs
Wires

Hard to say how the Cyl's look like may want to spray some WD40 and dry start then change oil..

Drain Fuel tank is a must imo..

"""PIC's"""

·
Registered
27 Posts
You should hear the fuel pump run before you try starting it. So, since you didn't hear it, then that would be the first item to check. Unfortunately, it's in the gas tank. There should be a fuse for it, but I don't know for sure or where it would be located.

Black sooty plugs means it's running too rich. I had a similar problem but I "fixed" it by using dielectric grease on almost all of the electrical connectors. So, I don't actually know what was causing the problem but I assume it was a bad electrical connection somewhere.

·
Registered
116 Posts
As said above, it's probably that the pump isn't working you should hear a whirring from the pump either when you turn the key or when you put the sidestand up.