Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HI I am new to Ducati.MS and have read through the forums for over a week now looking for some kinda clue as to what to check on my Ducati. I appreciate any help. Here is what is happening. First its a 2000 748 biposto, I roll my baby outside on the drive and start it up and let it warm up to 120 degrees or so, hope on and ride a couple miles to the highway when I get on the highway or just get on the throttle hard my bike completely shuts down. Usually around 6500 rpm, took it to the local Ducati shop and they replaced the battery and the 2 relays under the seat, was explained to me I will feel these relays tick once then 2 or 3 seconds later tick again and I will hear the fuel pump come on. So I can feel the relay tick and and sometimes it will restart other times it just sits there till the tow truck arrives. The gas lines inside the tank have been checked by Ducati mechanic and they've replaced a crushed exhaust gas lines coming from the tank. The bike has a performance chip in it and I am not sure what kind it is but they put the bike on the dyno and run it up to 9500 rpm in 1,2,3,4th with no problems and stated the chip is kicking in at the right rpms and enriching the fuel perfectly, its got half a tank of gas in it. I know how to check for voltage now and some of the connections for electrical like the connector behind the battery box, how do I check the gas lines inside of the tank I would really like to verify it but not sure if I have to take the tank off. Spark plugs are fine not wet or anything like that just a slight tan like normal and the fuel pump has been replaced. Fuses are good, key fits snugly into slot and is not loose at all, start button feels good not loose or anything. I'm kinda at a loss since this is my first Ducati I want to make sure I check everything and the previous owner kept up with the maintenance like belts and val