Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Ducati's and have a question. Back in MSF class, I was told that when you're sitting at a stoplight in traffic - you should leave the bike in first gear (as opposed to neutral...), holding the clutch in - just in case you need to move out of the way quick. What about the Ducati "Dry Clutch" - is it OK to keep this type clutch held in at a stoplight in traffic, or am I going to burn something out?....

Also - the bike I just bought has an "open" clutch cover, a modification done by the previous owner. If this open clutch gets wet, rain or when washing it, etc... is it OK?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,434 Posts
1. Won't hurt the clutch to hold the lever in at a stoplight. Might hurt your forearm though.
2. Many run open covers. You might want to make sure the clutch is dried out before storing the bike though, if it gets wet.

·
Resident Raggamuffin
9,716 Posts
i believe it to be safer to be in gear....if that's the case, i'll take safer over replacing a clutch basket early any day.

·
Registered
2,051 Posts
I generally leave it in gear for the most parts myself. However if I've been riding for a while, or get stuck in heavy traffic I will toss it in neutral. You can only hold these clutches in for so long before your arm starts to hurt lol.

·
Premium Member
2,497 Posts
I was always told to hook neutral when stopping - dry clutches will eat themselves if you sit with the bike in gear, and the clutch dis-engaged.
I've never done a MSF course, but then again - in 35 years of riding, I've never had to 'move out of the way in a hurry' at a traffic light. Generally, once a vehicle has stopped behind me, I figure that'll keep the worst away...