Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum banner

1998 916 Sps

2259 8
Hi, I am new to the web site. I currently own a 2005 ST3 and a 1998 748 BI. I just got the 748 in Dec after selling my Buell XB9R. I was hoping I would enjoy the bike ( 748 ) as much as the Buell. The problem now is I love these superbikes so much that I am trying to figure how to upgrade the 748 to a 98 SPS I found. The only known problem with the SPS is a tendancy for the motor to just stop running after a short ride. It will restart after it has a chance to cool down. The first owner and the bike shop have not been able to trace down the problem yet. It has the P8 computer. Other then that the bike is in exc condition with 7000k miles. Anybody have a clue here? Are these bikes ( SPS's ) going to hold there value or maybe increase in the future. Anyone have an idea where to find another computer for this thing? Thanks, Tim.
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
HOOTER13 said:
The 1998 SPS cam with the 996cc motor even though Ducati call it a 916 model.
That's all done for Marketing.. That the year the bike sold to the public was still called a nine one six Ducati so it's race bikes followed the same nomenclature. Same thing when the 996R ran a 998cc engine.

·
Banned
2,339 Posts
in the 9xx type bikes, if it's an sp it's 916. (except for a very few rare 955's)
sps is 996
r is testastretta 998
until you get to 999r then it's 999cc with the full monty short stroke donk.

·
Super Moderator
8,320 Posts
A friend of mine has a 916 SP3 (916cc) and he had some problems with the injection together with the P8. It came down to a grounding fault, so start there.